Review of Tarte Amazonian Clay Loose Powder Foundation

 

I recently purchased the Tarte Amazonian Clay powder foundation and the Airbuki brush that goes along with it.

Foundation: $38.00
Airbuki brush: $24.00
Silly feeling when you say the word “airbuki”: p r i c e l e s s

I have very oily skin, and it tends to make liquid foundation look cakey or make it come off easily throughout the day. I decided to try a powder foundation for the first time ever, so I did a lot of research before I purchased one.

The Tarte Amazonian Clay powder foundation has 4.25 stars on Sephora.com, so that was a good start. I have heard good things from friends about Tarte foundations, so I felt like that was a good place to start my research. The website calls this foundation a “full coverage airbrush foundation” in the title, but in the actual description of the product it is described as “a talc-free medium coverage, weightless powder foundation”…so I was a little skeptical about what the true coverage was. You can find it on Sephora.com here.

I also considered powder foundations by Kat Von D and Bare Minerals, but as I read reviews and product descriptions, and watched YouTube videos, it was clear to me that they were not going to be the full coverage foundation I was looking for.

I watched a few YouTube videos featuring this Tarte powder foundation, and they had mixed reviews. I didn’t really trust the opinions of the reviewers with already perfect skin, as I have acne and scarring that needs to be covered. There was one video in particular, that had me convinced to try out this product, and you can find it here. The YouTuber had acne and scarring, and this foundation covered it pretty darn well in her video.

Here is a before and after photo of my first run with the Tarte Amazonian Clay powder foundation. I used the Airbuki brush that goes along with it as well.

img_3144

As you can see, I got pretty good coverage with this foundation!! I did use an under-eye concealer and I spot corrected with a cheapo drugstore concealer on my bigger acne spots. I also set the foundation with NYX setting spray (a must with powder foundation). I was so happy with the way this turned out. It lasted all day, and did an amazing job at keeping my face oil-free. It did crease up a little in the smile lines of my face, though, but adding a little Urban Decay eyeshadow primer potion in that area fixed that problem.

I will definitely continue using this foundation, and am very happy with my purchase. I recommend this product to anyone with oily or normal skin. If you have dry skin, this would not be a great option for you. I have been using this product for about two-three weeks and I love it.

Love always,

Steph

6 thoughts on “Review of Tarte Amazonian Clay Loose Powder Foundation

  1. I LOVE this foundation, but more for summer time since my skin is dry and the powder would emphasize that right now. The sifter pan is practically mess-free and I find I like this way better than Bare Minerals. xo J

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

