Review of my January Ipsy Glam Bag

I finally got my January Glam Bag yesterday (four days late), so I can finally review it for you all!! 🙂

image5image7

First, is this beautiful lip gloss by Trust Fund Beauty. It is a pretty neutral shade that is SO GLOSSY!! On the Ipsy website, it said that this gloss is great because it isn’t sticky, but I don’t totally agree with that. I think that it was a little sticky. Overall, I don’t really like glosses, but I can see myself wearing this on a day when I don’t feel like fighting with lipstick. (The swatch is on the right, above my middle knuckle.)

image1-4image8

Next, is the Pacifica Blushious coconut and rose infused cheek color. This came with a 20% off coupon for Ulta, which I think is pretty cool. It is also CRUELTY FREE and vegan, which I LOVE!!! This blush is very shimmery and it caked on my finger when I rubbed it for the swatch, but it didn’t come off onto my hand (see photo with gloss swatch) very easily. This will be different with a brush, however. I love the shade, it is a darker, bronze-y color. I don’t care for shimmery blushes, but if you do, then this is totally up your alley!!

image4

This brush is SO PRETTY! I really love how colorful it is and how soft it is. It feels great on my sensitive skin, and it is not harsh at all. Some brushes can be kind of scratchy, but this one is very soft. It blends eye shadows nicely, and it is a great multi-purpose brush. You can use it for your crease or your lid, for packing, or for blending. Definitely a new staple in my eye shadow routine.

image3

I don’t like this product at all. It says that you’re supposed to rub it on your face, and in 30 (or so) seconds, the gel will turn into tiny solid balls once it mixes with the dead skin on your face. Then, you’re supposed to be able to wash the little balls of yuck away. Well, the balls formed on my cheeks, but no where else. And then they wouldn’t wash off, they got stuck in the little hairs on my face and HURT LIKE HECK to pull off. My face didn’t feel cleaner or smoother after using this product. I threw it in the trash.

image6

This is the Temptu brand makeup primer. It is supposed to smooth and mattefy. What I really liked about this product is that it felt very moisturizing. I kind of wish I hadn’t moisturized before putting it on, because I think that this would have done great on its own. I am half way through my work day with this primer on, and it is holding up! My make-up still looks great! 🙂


Overall my January glam bag was okay. The only product I loved was the brush. I actually cancelled my subscription to Ipsy after receiving this bag. I just don’t get enough products that I like to continue paying for it. I usually give away 80% of the things I get, and I don’t need a new makeup bag every month.

I am considering a Boxy Charm subscription, though. If you have any experience with that, please comment below, and let me know what you think!! 🙂

Love always,

Steph

5 thoughts on “Review of my January Ipsy Glam Bag

      1. Sometimes they will send the same kind of product in multiple boxes.. like the September, November, and December boxes last year all had eyeshadow palettes which was nice but I would like to get something different once you know? And there are some brands that you will frequently get products from, I’m guessing cause they have a strong partnership with them, but like I want to try new brands sometimes. BUT overall the products are always really good and with the box being worth over $100 you really can’t go wrong! Sorry for such a long comment haha.

        Like

Leave a Reply

